The very last Champions Trophy: the statistics

The 37th edition of the Champions Trophy in Breda is the last. Here’s a round-up of some of the many records which have been set in the previous 36 editions.
by Jolien Scholte

Australia has won the trophy most often
Australia took the title in 2008, the last time the event was organised in the Netherlands. That was the start of a record breaking five wins in a row for the Kookaburras. In total, Australia have taken the top prize 14 times. Germany is next in line with 10 wins, followed by the Netherlands with eight.

Australia has taken part in all but one of the Champions Trophy events, having pulled out in 2004 when it was held in Pakistan because of security concerns. Australia has also been in the top three in 29 of the 35 competitions they have taken part in, giving them another record  – for the most medals.

A new look compared with 2016

The line-up for this year’s event is very different when compared with the last competition in 2016. The Netherlands as host, Pakistan and reigning Olympic Champions Argentina were not part of the Champions Trophy then, but are all in action in Breda.

Going on past performance, the odds of one of them winning are not great. Only twice before has a team which did not play in the previous competition won the title – Spain in 2004 and Australia in 2015.

Germany is not involved this year, the first time since 1999 that it has been excluded. Belgium, Australia and India complete this year’s teams. Pakistan, incidently, has won the title three times (1978, 1980 and 1994) and each time it was the host nation.

Australia’s Eddie Ockenden could set a new record

If Australia wins the title this year, Eddie van Ockenden will set a new record – as seven-times winner of the Champions Trophy. Currently he, Jamie Dwyer (Australia), Carsten Fischer (Germany) and Dutchmen Teun de Nooijer, Jeroen Delmee, Guus Vogels and Sander van der Weide all have six titles to their name.

Australia’s coach Colin Batch won the Champions Trophy four times as a player and if the Kookaburras win in Breda, he will join Graham Reid and Ric Charlesworth as double winners, both as team player and as coach.

Taeke Taekema will keep his top score record

The Netherlands’ penalty corner cannon Taeke Taekema is in an invincible position when it comes to the title of Champions Trophy top scorer, with 48 goals to his name. Teun de Nooijer, on 43 and Sohail Abbas on 41 complete the top three line-up.

Of the current generation of Champions Trophy players, Jeroen Hertzberger of the Netherlands leads the pack with 18 goals.

Wat vind jij? Praat mee...